Shavuot: Ruth

And Ruth said, “Do not entreat me to leave you, or to return from following after you: for wherever you go, I will go; and where you live, I will live: your people shall be my people, and your God my God.” (Megillat Ruth 1:16)

When Machlon brought me home
and gaily said, “Hey Ma,
meet the girl I’m going to marry!”
I saw you start; your lips trembled.

Your eyes swept my face
then you lowered your gaze:
abashed at your fleeting discourtesy
your cheeks reddened.

I knew then
that I wasn’t your choice for your son
and yet you embraced me
like the daughter you never had.

Your noble spirit infused me:
these past ten years
your generous heart
has become entwined with mine.

Now Machlon is dead
and you’re going home,
don’t entreat me to leave you:
I will follow you to your people and your God.

Leave a Reply

